5.76 cm3 of obscurity

2017

5.76 cm3 of obscurity is the result of an experience, both absurd and impossible: the observation and the extraction of Deschamps's emotions.

After having undergone an MRI at the UCL Insitute of Neurology of London, she was able to locate and 3D print her amygdala, a structure of the temporal lobe, involved in the governance of our emotions.

They have been cast with a stainless steel from ThyssenKrupp, a German company which has facilitated and profited from the Nazi party during the Second World War, and which is today the number two in the steel sector in Europe.

The migration of the artist's amygdala via this industrial process, and its translation into a material that is still holding a part of her familial history, are the attempt to confront and exhume obscure areas of her body and history.

Thanks
Renato Casciani, president of Les Amis du Frac
Department of Clinical and Experimental Epilepsy (UCL Insitute of Neurology of London)
RapidformRCA and Jewellery & Metal workshops, Royal College of Art, London
Technic
MRI Scan, 3D modelling, casting, TyssenKrupp stainless steel
Design
Atelier Dreieck

5.76 cm3 of obscurity

2017

5.76 cm3 of obscurity est la production d’un multiple pour le Frac Nord-Pas-de-Calais, sur une invitation de l’association des Amis du Frac.

Elle est le fruit d’une expérience, à la fois absurde et impossible : l’observation et l’extraction de mes émotions.

Après avoir réalisé une IRM dans un centre de recherche sur les maladies de la mémoire et de l’épilepsie à Londres, j’ai pu localiser et réaliser une impression 3D de mes amygdales, structures du lobe temporal, intervenant dans la gestion de nos émotions.

Particulièrement difficiles à observer puisque provenant d’une zone profonde de notre cerveau, ces deux structures symbolisent ici les régions enfouies d’une mémoire aussi bien individuelle que collective.

Elles ont été fabriquées dans un matériau (acier inoxydable) provenant du groupe industriel ThyssenKrupp. Cette compagnie allemande ayant facilité et profité du parti nazi pendant la seconde guerre mondiale est aujourd’hui le numéro deux du secteur de l’acier en Europe.

La migration d’une partie de moi-même (très intime: mes émotions) via ce procédé industriel, et sa traduction dans un matériau chargé d’une histoire qui demeure quelque par en moi, expriment l’idée d’un corps travaillé par les zones refoulées de notre histoire.

Cette recherche est la tentative de les exhumer.

Remerciements
Renato Casciani, président des Amis du Frac
Department of Clinical and Experimental Epilepsy (UCL Insitute of Neurology of London)
RapidformRCA and Jewellery & Metal workshops, Royal College of Art, London
Technique
MRI Scan, 3D modelling, casting, TyssenKrupp stainless steel
Design boîte
Atelier Dreieck